HTML Basics Dicsussion

This thread is for discussing everything related to the very basics of HTML. If you didn’t understand something - this is where you can ask questions and help other people who are wondering something!

45 Likes

Can i use Visual Studio Code like my editor? or i have to use only Atom? Thanks

8 Likes

I bet you can use what ever you want to but my suggestion as a fellow student is to use Atom because it will be easy to follow up :slight_smile: I haven’t finished fully but there wouldn’t be too much difference anyways.

5 Likes

Yes, you can use whatever you want.

7 Likes

Re: atom download
Do I want Atom to handle atom URIs ? Yes/No ?

3 Likes

Not neccessary, you can click no.

4 Likes

thanks for the quick reply!

3 Likes

Visual Studio Code is way better than atom in my opinion. When I started learning coding a year ago, I only stuck with atom. It was until March when one of my favorite web dev youtuber said “atom was so 2016” and before then, I heard many other devs started switching to vscode from atom. As soon as I started with vscode, I fell in love with it. It’s faster, less prone to crash, and already has emmet and other packages that makes it easier.

If you decide to switch to vscode, I’d recommend watching this video first https://youtu.be/fnPhJHN0jTE

21 Likes

for ubuntu 18.0.4 LTS it comes up with two download options a .deb or a .rpm which would be best suited for what we are doing?

i installed both lol its .deb

2 Likes

.deb is the correct file format t use for ubuntu and other Debian derivatives. .rpm is for Red Hat linux, CentOS and others that are descended from Red Hat.

4 Likes

VSCode is great editor.
In fact, you can use any editor even windows Notepad as long as you save your files with .html extension. Other advance editors provide assistance by color coding and indenting your code, and some of them also does provide suggestions.

11 Likes