How to Install Bcoin module for Node.js in Windows 10

Hi,

After struggling for a day, I managed to complete the “Creating Keys” example. For clarification I am not a developer myself, but I am learning. So bear with me if I misnomer something.

Through what I learned today, it seems that in order to run the Bcoin module in Node.js, you need some software on your computer installed.

STEP 1
I suggest you start by downloading and installing all the following software:
As a remark I am noting versions I downloaded at the time of this post; which were the latest available. I also want to state that I am using Windows 10.

Python 3.7 (downloaded from Python website)
Node.js v12.19.0 (downloaded from Node.js website)
NPM v6.14.8 (included in Node.js)
git version 2.28.0.windows.1 (downloaded from this site https://git-scm.com/ )
Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2019 Version 16.7.6, installed with the Desktop C++ “workload”

Restart your computer after all this software installation.

STEP 2
I found through trial and error that the module that helps you install the Bcoin module, need NPM to know how to access to the python software. Therefore you have to configure it. I found this information here: https://github.com/nodejs/node-gyp, if you would like to reference yourself.
Using the Powershell you will configure your NPM to the python program executable with the command below:

npm config set python “C:\locationinyourcomputer\Python 3.7 (64-bit).lnk”

In Windows 10 you can find the python executable location just by typing “Python” and right-click open file location…

STEP 3
Follow Filip’s steps to create the folder directory “multisigproject” and run the “npm init” code from powershell in that directory.

STEP 4
Being in the “multisigproject” directory, in powershell run the command:

npm install bcoin