How many hours to complete

As a complete beginner, how many hours does it take to complete this Javascript course? I would like to know how long it takes to monitor my progress closely, at the same time not be frustrated by thinking that I’m progressing too slowly.

i couldt tell you exactly, but probably 60 hours or more

2 Likes

hey @cyl2chan, hope you are well.

The material of the course is around 20 hours for all the videos plus assignments, if for example you study 1 hour per day, you should be able to finish the course in almost a month, If you are completely new into programming, it could take you a little longer, but in less than 3 months you should finish it.

Im using 1 hour per day as example to study the course, although the videos are not super long (less than 30 minutes), the exercises could take more than 1 hour, but keeping a discipline of 1 hour per day should be enough to monitor your progress.

Carlos Z

2 Likes

for me it was/is (im still in the process, almost finished tho) easily +100h.
i also started from scratch, literly never saw a line of code before in my live or try to understand it.
I think it depends on how serious you take it… you can just type/ copy what he´s doing or you dig deeper.
I by myself seriously try to learn it, so i do simultaneously courses in codaAcademy which helps A LOT!
i feel you man… Yes its frustrating from time to time. Sometimes i feel stupid too… but thats a part of the game and verybody that has learnd how to code will tell you the same!
dont give up! stick to it, trust in the process, be patiend, dont blame your selfe if you dont get it the first time and look it up the next day if its confusing!
over time it will make more sense!! and the success moments will come, trust me!

7 Likes

Thanks for all the input!!

With spaced repetition and internalization it can easily become 100h+. Watching the videos only develops the skill of being able to watch someone else code.

1 Like