Hello Moralis-move to next line in terminal?

Hey guys I’m completely new to coding and just starting the course and frustrated already and embarrassed I can’t figure out such a simple thing. I’m up to the Introduction to html section-hello Moralis. I downloaded visual studio code for my PC like instructed and I’m in terminal trying to create a folder. I tried following him step by step. C:/users/myname> Reads on the screen. And I tried writing /WebDev after it like he did but when I press enter to go to next line C:/users/myname> Reads on the next line again every time i press it instead of the next line starting with WebDev like it does for him. How do I make that happen he doesn’t explain it? I tried researching on the site start a new line so I can manually type that in and the website says alt+up or down arrow and people on blogs say control+alt+up or down but that doesn’t seem to work either. Sorry I didn’t know how to explain this in a shorter way. Hopefully someone can help because I really want to take this course. Thanks

2 Likes

Hey @Koshermoney125, hope you are well.

I’m sure the teacher forgot a simple step, which is creating a new folder, you can do this on your desktop by right clicking any where and then “New”=>“Folder” , call it on the same way of the teacher “WebDev”, later you can follow the command line like the teacher to reach into the folder.

Carlos Z

2 Likes

The issue is that it was pre-assumed that basic command prompt (Windows) or terminal (Linux, MacOS) commands are common knowledge or at least they are very easy to research. This research pays off by the way, as without this small exercise, later exercises will become increasingly difficult.

Let me quote what was said in the video at 4:02.

“So create a dedicated folder for your project. For example, for me it’s almost always c:\webdev or e:\webdev or d:\webdev; and inside that, you can create a new folder with either md or mkdir”.