Absolute Newbie Questions

Where do I find instructions on how to use this forum - I find it quite confusing even intimidating.

How do I log in to see the Daily Live broadcast. I can’t seem to get in to https://academy.ivanontech.com/live? I thought i should use my academy log in?

When do crypto markets officially close for the day; what time, what time zone? So we know when a “candle” is printed?

Why is the term HODLING used instead of the term HOLDING? How did that start?

Are ALT coins any coin other than BTC?

Does anyone think that a bad actor government could throw such massive computational power at BTC as to corrupt a coin(s) blockchain?

I know a bunch of you are getting a laugh from such basic questions … :slight_smile:

Appreciate your responses.

2 Likes

Absolutely not there is no reason to laugh at your questions we all got to start somewhere and you’ll eventually learn. I’m no pro I just started the academy myself but do have some blockchain experience and a masters where I focused on blockchain but there is always so much to learn and I am thankful I found this academy.

:small_blue_diamond: I’d suggest maybe starting setting up your profile in settings then go the introduction forum to introduce yourself but there are others under categories that can help you get started. Yes, it is overwhelming so I suggest follow the courses you are enrolled in and you will find a designated forum for each course. If there is a specific topic you need help with you can search for it in the top right magnifying glass.

:small_blue_diamond: Unlike traditional markets, crypto is open 24/7 across different exchanges. Check out this article. you can see different candles based on the chart you choose (i.e. minutes, hourly, daily, monthly, yearly).

:small_blue_diamond: HODL is slang in crypto for holding your crypto rather than selling - it all started through a drunk post on reddit or some forum and everyone started using it since. This was back in like 2013.