32 ETH Staking, running a Validator

Hi everyone, I am still learning about crypto here at Ivan’s, I am listening a lot about the 32 ETH Staking and running a Validator, I checked out the site yesterday.

https://launchpad.ethereum.org/

I have some ETH and planning on Holding for long term, so I am thinking it makes sense to place some on the staking, and also running a validator. I have a iMac and a MacBook air, can this be good enough to run a validator?

My question are: is it worth it?, is it safe? Are you guys planning on doing it? Any comments or suggestions?

Thanks

JB

1 Like

Hello JB!

I was considering this myself, and I think I’ve decided against it for now after considering this video here. Really, it’s partly because I’d have to get 30 more Ether by selling my BTC, and I’m hodling my BTC too hard to want to give any up.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ar_NBiCs48w

2 Likes

Hi,

is it worth it?:

we will see, I think it is

is it safe? :

nothing is safe enough to do in the first time, anything can go wrong, so yes, a valid fear you lose some of/all of your ETH.

Are you guys planning on doing it?:

Sure, I’m working on my node in this time too.

But as I see most of the people only see the potential financial gains and not the technical skills you need to run a validator 365/24/7. There are a lot of tutorial written by enthusiastic amateurs like me,but thants far from enough. Non of them mention security, failsafe solutions, backups and restores, etc. only the most basic stuff you need the magic working.

Ofc more participation equals mor decentralization, but… jumping into this just becouse it’s trend, you only hurt yourself. You can’t pause the network for a week, while you google why your validator is not working! Even if they have good discord support.

If you are not technical enough there are some other solutions like Stkr or RocketPool and they are available for anyone from 0.5 ETH maybe?